Val

Val

Who dares to fall?

Calefax and theatre company Schweigman& bring a musical ode to falling, in which we look our fears in the eye.

No one wants to fall. Falling makes you vulnerable. In today’s society we want progress; onward and upward, faster, more. But surely falling is part of life? Water evaporates, rises and comes back down as rain; people live and learn; they get knocked down and they get back up again. What would be left of our creativity if no one ever dared to leap into the dark? Val is a musical ode to falling, in which we look our fears in the eye. Composer Yannis Kyriakides, with whom we worked before, makes us explore the extremes; scaling the highest heights and dropping to the deepest lows.

Schweigman&

For sixteen years, Schweigman& has struck a universal, human chord with audiences on location and in theatres. Boukje Schweigman’s company is known for its unique theatrical idiom, drawing the audience into a wordless universe and placing the senses on alert. While everyone experiences this in their own way, as one journalist commented: even the most insensitive are moved. Val brings the company’s poetical genre to the big stage.

Credits
Director: Boukje Schweigman
Music: Yannis Kyriakides
Set and lighting design: Theun Mosk
Performers: Hidde Aans-Verkade, Erwin Dörr, Koen van der Heijden, Francesca Lazzeri, Goda Zukauskaite
Musical lead: Calefax
Assistant director: Anemone Oostvriesland
Costumes: Esmee Thomassen

Val

Upcoming concerts

Wed 24 Jul 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Thu 25 Jul 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Fri 26 Jul 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Fri 20 Sep 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg Utrecht / NL Tickets
Sat 21 Sep 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg (première) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Sun 22 Sep 20.00 Val Stadsschouwburg Utrecht / NL Tickets
Thu 26 Sep 20.30 Val Chassé Theater Breda / NL Tickets
Sat 28 Sep 20.15 Val De Warande Turnhout / BE Tickets
Wed 2 Oct 20.00 Val Zwolse Theaters Zwolle / NL Tickets
Wed 9 Oct 20.15 Val Stadstheater Arnhem Arnhem / NL Tickets
Mon 14 Oct 19.30 Val Internationaal Theater Amsterdam Amsterdam / NL Tickets
Wed 16 Oct 20.15 Val Het Nationale Theater Den Haag / NL Tickets
Mon 21 Oct 20.15 Val Stadsschouwburg Groningen / NL Tickets
Wed 6 Nov 19.00 Val Theater aan de Parade (November Music Festival) Den Bosch / NL Tickets
Thu 21 Nov 20.15 Val Theater Rotterdam Rotterdam / NL Tickets