Dido & Aeneazz – Calefax & Eric Vloeimans (2019)


Inspired by Henry Purcells masterpiece, the versatile reed players of Calefax and renowned trumpet player Eric Vloeimans invite the listener to join a musical journey that virtuously flows from the baroque original to jazz, calypso and klezmer, and back.



1. Overture
2. Peace and I are strangers grown
3. Fear no danger; Cupid has thrown the dart
4. A splendid time together
5. The triumphs of love
6. Love dance
7. The witches
8. Ritornel
9. The sailors
10. Horizon
11. Sailors & witches
12. Triumphant witches
13. Crazy witches
14. Great minds against themselves conspire
15. Dido’s lament
16. With drooping wings

Recomposed by Raaf Hekkema, after Henry Purcell’s Dido & Aeneas.
Tracks 4, 6, 10, 11 and 13 composed and arranged by Eric Vloeimans, instrumentation by Raaf Hekkema.

Performance by Calefax, Eric Vloeimans, Gulli Gudmundsson (double bass) and Jasper van Hulten (drums)

Pentatone PTC5186758


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dido & Aeneazz – Calefax & Eric Vloeimans (2019)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *