VAL

VAL

Who dares to fall?

Calefax and theatre company Schweigman& bring a a musical ode to falling, in which we look our fears in the eye.

No one wants to fall. Falling makes you vulnerable. In today’s society we want progress; onward and upward, faster, more. But surely falling is part of life? Water evaporates, rises and comes back down as rain; people live and learn; they get knocked down and they get back up again. What would be left of our creativity if no one ever dared to leap into the dark? VAL is a musical ode to falling, in which we look our fears in the eye.

For sixteen years, Schweigman& has struck a universal, human chord with audiences on location and in theatres. Boukje Schweigman’s company is known for its unique theatrical idiom, drawing the audience into a wordless universe and placing the senses on alert. While everyone experiences this in their own way, as one journalist commented: even the most insensitive are moved. VAL brings the company’s poetical genre to the big stage, accompanied by Calefax reed quintet with music by Yannis Kyriakides. Like the players, they also explore the extremes; scaling the highest heights and dropping to the deepest lows.

Director: Boukje Schweigman
Music: Yannis Kyriakides
Set and lighting design: Theun Mosk
Performers: Hidde Aans-Verkade, Erwin Dörr, Koen van der Heijden, Francesca Lazzeri, Goda Zukauskaite
Musical lead: Calefax
Assistant director: Anemone Oostvriesland
Costumes: Esmee Thomassen

Upcoming concerts

Wed 24 Jul 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Thu 25 Jul 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Fri 26 Jul 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Utrecht (Try-out) Utrecht / NL Tickets
Fri 20 Sep 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Utrecht / NL
Sat 21 Sep 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg (première) Utrecht / NL
Sun 22 Sep 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Utrecht / NL
Thu 26 Sep 20.00 VAL Chassé Theater Breda / NL
Sat 28 Sep 20.00 VAL De Warande Turnhout / BE
Wed 2 Oct 20.00 VAL Zwolse Theaters Zwolle / NL
Wed 9 Oct 20.00 VAL Stadstheater Arnhem Arnhem / NL
Mon 14 Oct 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam / NL
Wed 16 Oct 20.00 VAL Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag / NL
Mon 21 Oct 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Groningen / NL
Wed 6 Nov 19.00 VAL Theater aan de Parade (November Music Festival) Den Bosch / NL
Thu 21 Nov 20.00 VAL Stadsschouwburg Rotterdam / NL