Wind Waves


Wind Waves is the fulfilment of one of Calefax’s cherished wishes: performing the music of one of the most intriguing composers of this time, Georges Aperghis. After an intense period of collaboration with the quintet and the five musicians separately, Aperghis created Wind Waves, a new large chamber music piece for reed quintet. Bach’s most experimental composition, the Kunst der Fuge, was an important source of inspiration for Aparghis.

Both pieces can be heard during this concert: Aperghis’ clouds of sounds and modern polyphony opposite to Bach’s mysterious fugues. Aperghis, born in Athens (1945), lives and works since 1963 in Paris. In 2015 he has been awarded with the Golden Lion, the lifetime achievement award of the Biennale Musica Venezia, for his influential role in contemporary music.


Georges Aperghis Wind Waves
Johann Sebastian Bach Die Kunst der Fuge

Past concerts

Wed 7 Nov '18 19.00 Wind Waves November Music Den Bosch / NL
Thu 17 Jan '19 20.15 Wind Waves Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ Amsterdam / NL