Song of the Reed

Song of the Reed

with Mohammad Motamedi

Calefax meets one of Iran’s most famous singers: Mohammad Motamedi. Together, the musicians perform a mix of traditional Iranian songs with instrumental classical music.

Century-old Persian poetry is an inexhaustible source for Iranian songs. Motamedi’s speciality is to adorn these verses with enchanting melodies. Song of the Reed is about the yearning for one’s home. The famous poem Song of the Reed by the 13th-century mystical poet Rumi describes the pain of those who are cut off from their home, like a reed cut loose from its reed bed.

Programme

Traditional Persian music
Claude Debussy Syrinx
Duke Ellington Isfahan
Heinrich Isaac/J.S. Bach/Johannes Brahms Innsbruck ich muss’ dich lassen

Calefax en Mohammad Motamedi will be accompanied by Pouriya Jaberi (percussion).

Upcoming concerts

Fri 8 Nov 20.15 Song of the Reed Beauforthuis (try-out) Austerlitz / NL
Thu 14 Nov 20.15 Song of the Reed Stadsgehoorzaal (premiere) Leiden / NL Tickets
Fri 15 Nov 20.00 Song of the Reed De Phil Haarlem / NL Tickets
Sat 16 Nov 20.00 Song of the Reed Nieuwe Kerk Den Haag / NL
Wed 20 Nov 20.00 Song of the Reed Concertzaal Tilburg / NL
Thu 21 Nov 20.15 Song of the Reed Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ Amsterdam / NL Tickets

Past concerts

Tue 13 Apr '21 20.15 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Phlharmonie (try-out) Haarlem / NL
Fri 16 Apr '21 20.15 Song of the Reed Cancelled - De Doelen (première) Rotterdam / NL
Sat 17 Apr '21 20.30 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Theaters Tilburg Tilburg / NL
Wed 21 Apr '21 20.30 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Theater aan het Vrijthof Maastricht / NL
Sat 1 May '21 20.15 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Muziekgebouw Eindhoven / NL
Fri 7 May '21 20.15 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Stadsgehoorzaal Leiden / NL
Fri 21 May '21 20.00 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Musis Arnhem / NL
Wed 2 Jun '21 20.15 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Theater de Veste Delft / NL
Sat 5 Jun '21 20.45 Song of the Reed Cancelled - Paradiso Amsterdam / NL
Thu 24 Jun '21 20.00 Song of the Reed Stream via YouTube & Facebook Recorded at Paradiso, Amsterdam / NL