Dido & Aeneazz

Dido &
Aeneazz

Calefax & Eric Vloeimans

Calefax and renowned trumpeter Eric Vloeimans present a swinging new version of Purcell’s famous baroque opera Dido and Aeneas.

Virgil’s classical tragedy is given an entirely new spin in Dido & Aeneazz, a recomposition of the opera by Raaf Hekkema (saxophonist of Calefax) with a cycle of new songs by Eric Vloeimans. It invites the listener to a musical journey that virtuously flows from the baroque original to jazz, calypso and klezmer, and back.

During the concert, beautiful illustrations by artist Hedy Tjin depict and accompany the colorful music.

Calefax and Vloeimans are accompanied by Vloeimans’ top band Gatecrash: Gulli Gudmundsson (bas) and Jasper van Hulten (drums).

Programme

Music by
Henry Purcell
Raaf Hekkema
Eric Vloeimans

This project is supported by Fonds 21, Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, the Alida Wilhelmina Fonds and Friends of Calefax.

Album

Dido & Aeneazz is a recomposition of Henry Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas by Raaf Hekkema, combined with newly-composed music by Eric Vloeimans.

The album showcases our congenial collaboration with renowned trumpet player Eric Vloeimans. Dido & Aeneazz invites the listener to join a musical journey that virtuously flows from the baroque original to jazz, calypso and klezmer, and back.

Past concerts

Thu 14 Jun 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Beauforthuis Austerlitz / NL
Tue 19 Jun 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Sint Agathakerk Eys / NL
Sun 7 Apr 14.30 Dido & Aeneazz Muziekpodium Eemland (Try-out) Soestduinen / NL
Thu 11 Apr 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Isala Theater (Try-out) Capelle aan den IJssel / NL
Sun 14 Apr 14.30 Dido & Aeneazz De Doelen (Premiere) Rotterdam / NL
Tue 16 Apr 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Theater Junushoff Wageningen / NL
Wed 17 Apr 20.00 Dido & Aeneazz De Grote Kerk Enschede / NL
Thu 18 Apr 20.30 Dido & Aeneazz Theaters Tilburg Tilburg / NL
Sat 20 Apr 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Leidse Schouwburg Leiden / NL
Thu 25 Apr 20.00 Dido & Aeneazz Theater de Nieuwe Kolk Assen / NL
Fri 26 Apr 20.00 Dido & Aeneazz TivoliVredenburg Utrecht / NL
Sun 28 Apr 20.15 Dido & Aeneazz Flint Amersfoort / NL
Wed 1 May 20.00 Dido & Aeneazz Schouwburg Amstelveen Amstelveen / NL
Sun 12 May 20.30 Dido & Aeneazz Schouwburg Odeon Zwolle / NL
Sun 2 Jun 20.30 Dido & Aeneazz Caprera Openluchttheater Bloemendaal / NL
Fri 14 Jun 20.30 Dido & Aeneazz Paradiso Amsterdam / NL